top of page
  • Writer's pictureLark

Why I lost my job - my mother was always on my mind

Maybe this should be in the activism category, there where a number of reasons I lost my job, I guess but deep down it was related to my mother. I hoped the activism world would somehow save my mother but inevitable if it isn't in their job description or actually their own issue. No one cared but me.



I'm going to first start to state it should be actually illegal to pass a law without a means to fund it. The whole reason I had a job was to organize mothers with 3 years and/or under babies to convince councilmembers to fund a law that was passed without a ways and means to execute the law. What a waste of actual time and money. But again this is America. The economy of non-profits and the continued exploitation of poor people.


“Maybe organizing work isn't in my future. I am hoping I can do something back to my first love, art.”

So maybe I didn't have my full heart into this work and when I got a new boss I felt she came from a non-organizing background and probably thought I was just trying to define her and she probably thought it was a form of disrespect. We were doing our first parent café event online and I was trying to explain to her marketing/outreach for this event is challenging if your asking folks (the parents I was organizing) to invite a plus one guest. Folks are not asking strangers, they are going to ask someone they know, a close friend and most likely other parents with children the same ages as theirs. Plus my job was focusing with babies/toddlers with disabilities. Most if not all kids aren't diagnosed at such a young age. Making the expectations even more difficult from my former bosses. Even parents of regular young kids, don't have time and energy to attend online events (parent cafes).


Because the work didn't fulfill any actual meaningful purpose to me I know I couldn't go by months or days without doing something I hoped would help my mother in some way or form. So I remember once my other boss was talking to me, to be more on top of the to do items from the new boss. I was busy putting together a political art project while she was talking to me. It was probably the first sign of my future firing. Maybe all these efforts where worthless at the time. But it was the only thing that I could think of to help my mother at the time.


My other efforts included, earlier that year I testified at a Anita Bonds hearing very randomly (video of that testimony is what is posted in this blog). It got me in a room with two of her policy people, just so happen to be Asian women. This was just before we were told to stay home because of the pandemic. They gave me a name and number to someone who also had their hand in writing policies in the very system I was interested in, the probate court. I found this person abrasive and secretive. I couldn't be a part of any other meetings this person held. She only said she would hear me out and maybe consider what I had to say. Nothing more.


I was told there was legislation passed under the probate court that also wasn't being executed. Probably because it was asking to much for the court appointed guardians/conservators. Even though I hate them. I would bet they weren't a part of the process of creating laws that effected their workload. So maybe that is why folks weren't doing whatever law this is. If you see my point here I hope you get it. The entire law making process if flawed, every step of the way.


Future passion, back to my first love

As I reflect what my future holds. It is still very unsure. My skills do feel limited. I don't take notes very well in meetings. I don't write technically well to make information driven testimonies or policies and/or write grants. I can honestly can admit talking to politicians make me sick to my stomach. Maybe organizing work isn't in my future. I am hoping I can do something back to my first love, art. Making a living out of it feels impossible. But I am always full of ideas. So maybe something will finally stick.


Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Niki Davis
Niki Davis
May 19, 2022

There is a quiet heartbreak in this entire read. I hope this brings some validation. YES, the law making process SUCKS when ever the new "law" does NOT do the job it was intended to do, and many lawmakers and folks involved in forming policy SUCK because the actual practices around politics SUCKS! It IS DECEPTIVE and SECRETIVE by NATURE of HOW we formed our government. Our government SUCKS because it is NOT based on TRUTH, JUSTICE, and TRANSPARENCY no matter if actual DEMOCRACY is. Our government is based on LIES, GENOCIDE, LAND THEFT, VIOLENCE, TERRORISM, RACISM, CHATTEL SLAVERY, COLONIZATION by INVADING FOREIGNERS and a deeply enforced MISOGYNY that allowed "White" European males to RUN and DOMINATE EVERY aspect of…

Like
bottom of page