top of page
  • Writer's pictureLark

What the police mean to me - as a mom/daughter/activist

Way before defund the police was a big social justice topic. I reflect on how I raised my kids and how my personal experiences have affected my beliefs.



In 2016 I recall seeing this news coverage about how children helping the police catch robbers. Kids form human arrow to point police towards suspects | CNN The entire situation itself disturbed me the most. And yes, it reminded me of how slaves were chased down. Sure children and helicopters weren't involved in those times but the way this pursuit went down it definitely gave me those vibes.


As for my kids, well I never liked how they sat outside my building in Southeast DC. I was a victim of two housebreak-ins (several neighbors got hit) and my car was shot up on another night. So, no I don't believe police help stop crime. Unless I have 24/hr security detail. You can't escape crime.



I remember telling my kids to hide in the car while I went shopping. The one time when I thought they were old enough to be in the car alone and not many ways to hide. Of course the police came questioning my kids with "what if scenarios" if someone tried to hurt them. I give them credit they had very clever responses. I had pepper spray (a cop gave it to me) for example and they knew some martial arts moves. After telling the cops it wasn't even that cold and my kids aren't that young they let me be. All I remember afterwards is the guy in the car beside me saying. I didn't call them. lol


The cops that approached my kids where being extra because in the news a single mother left her kids alone in the car so she could do a job interview. How messed up is it that we can't provide childcare for mom to do job interviews. Michelle Obama had to do it. Recently child protective services was called on me and I took that time to confirm what folks always would randomly recommend me to do. Call family services to get childcare. That isn't a thing, don't do it. The person I asked did say some folks actually left their kids at the office and left. So that made things worst for them, of course.


Since I brought up Michelle Obama, I might as well mention Barack Obama. I know many folks are sometimes critical about how he didn't do anything for black people but forget he started "My Brother's Keeper". I want to state that this proves my point that you can't just mentor poor kids out of their situation. They need guarantee opportunities (living wage jobs, free college, free housing, free food) and most defiantly the parents of black and brown poor children. Once again non-profit to volunteerism are just a way to make the middle class happy with themselves without actually doing anything to actually help with the core issues.


The old saying snitches get stiches. Well after a trip to South Carolina and learning what was life like post civil war slavery. The taxes were so high so folks wanted to stay a slave and how any movement of a growing revolt or blacks passing as white. This meant certain death. We like to believe these are far from different time periods and conditions. But are they?


After also learning the police were created to chase escaping slaves. I mean it comes to clear that the police is another form of an abusive power.



Which also brings me to my mother's guardian. He is a former cop that retired at a high rank. Besides never having a say about him being guardian. I thought it was going to be okay. But it didn't take long to start butting heads with a person that didn't feel the need to treat me as a valued family member. And with an activist mindset and a daughter's passion and concern. It felt like he enjoyed the power he had over me and my mother. Tell me he would let me talk to doctors but never does. I asked for better/more food and he never obliged. Moved my mother and never notified me. Which will also bring my great hatred of lawyers/conservators alike. But I'll save that for another blog post. So yes these are all my reasons why I support defunding the police. And if you wonder what are the other choices of feeling safe. I push your thought process to explore why do crimes happen in the first place.

All the problems that have persisted before, crime, education, housing, drug over dose. Always prove to hit hard in low-income neighborhoods. No investments in people to live happy lives. Lives that aren't deprived of basic needs. Healthy foods galore for example. I know I would have been a less angry parent without worrying about food.


You know the saying "don't cry over spilled milk." I know it is based on a meaning but in a literal sense I would get very angry when mistakes happened because I couldn't afford it. That is the big difference while parenting while poor. I also got a hole in my door because my oldest picked up my bad temper. I would hit the door and walls a lot whenever I thought how bad I was being treated by the guardian and conservator in charge on my mother. So like I have said before, I know I could be a better mother if I wasn't treated like shit by society and get barely anything when it comes to government food and housing benefits.


We keep thinking if we put so much money in the schools everything will be better. But kids come home, kids and parents should have what they need as well outside of the school building. Consider we treat poor people humanely and instead of they have to earn basic needs instead of just having it for being a living human being. Defunding the police means more investments in people so they don't have to live traumatic lives. Our school teaches don't need to learn trauma informed care if we just make is possible for our kids to live untraumatic lives to being with.


Also as a mom that is all about saving every dollar and cent. The United States would save more money providing supportive social economies that allow people to flourish. Verse continuing this cycle of capitalism that continues to exploits the poor and creates a economy within itself between non-profits, government and big businesses.


Because at the end of the day big business gets tax breaks donating to non-profits and non-profits have to apply to government grants and follow the rules attached to them and not be political. So in the end no one ever really holds the government accountable. And it doesn't matter even if you start taxing the rich if we continue to have a government that doesn't really want to help the people. Which the pandemic has shown clearly compared to others.


“I have definitely been reflecting why people with power are more likely to abuse it.”

I want to give props to the defund police movement in DC. The Black Lives Matter Mural was put up for show. I was looking at the news that did a segment of the mural and then went straight into tourism and lack there of. It then occurred to me, the mayor did the mural to bring in more protests. That was her new tourism. Living in DC for so long protesting the federal level is almost a bi-weekly thing. So this made so much sense as to why she did the mural. The democrats have the best publicity of pretending to care.



Final thoughts about Defunding the Police and Power

I want to leave my final thoughts with a video about power. I have definitely been reflecting why people with power are more likely to abuse it. Few people I know with power know how to stay humble or lead without a personal/selfish motive. Besides Nelson Mandela. I haven't heard anything bad about him. #DefundthePolice #AbuseofPower #BlackLivesMatterMural #DC



Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page