top of page
  • Writer's pictureLark

The meaning behind my political memes/art

I have been protesting for a while. With folks, without folks. With my art or without my art. loudly usually. Sometimes silently. My first protest was at the grocery walk with kiddo.


The meaning; Walmart played Vincent Gray with delaying the minimum wage increase to keep Walmart happy but Walmart still backed out. Not saying the outcome possibly came out better Lidl is good, i guess. https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/dc-politics/district-leaders-furious-walmart-wont-build-stores-in-poor-neighborhoods/2016/01/15/3425f5fa-bbb3-11e5-99f3-184bc379b12d_story.html

Very spontaneous protest at a event meant to be a photo op for the Mayor. https://twitter.com/OPinDC/status/1126879754215395339


The Not So Different series was an idea from a fellow advocate and I was happy to put together. I later on came up with the Money Motivated.


Elanor Holmes Norton has been in office since I have been a kid and I am at a point if you haven't made any meaningful change you have to go. I understand she doesn't have a vote. I recall reading a article years ago that she made a political compromise for DC to have a vote for some reason. Can't remember the exact details but I recall it wasn't worth it to me.




At 17:09 I ask the congresswoman a question about RFK stadium. She answers to an extent but also gets confused with what I handed her.

What can I say I have been here for a while and I don't feel either hat he wore made DC any better. Because of my insecurities in my own drawing skills and lack of materials. I "stole" political art with similar messaging.

Before the pandemic I was in a lot of meetings trying to help change the tide of displacement in the city. One was about the DC Comprehensive Plan and someone there I recall mentioned it is obvious McDuffie is in bed with the developers. So I went with it. https://youtu.be/wra0Ms3QjcA


What does privileged looks like? It isn't just black and white but also money and family support. Christina Henderson got her spot for saying she cares about the black moms that can't afford the city but in that same conversation states I get so many emails from landlords that want to raise the rent. So what black moms do you care about? married, maybe? professional? but not single or on assistance. Because those are the ones struggling the most and are being pushed out everyday before the pandemic, during the pandemic and currently happening now. I swear if I ever "ran" for office. I wouldn't be for the working poor. I would be for the moms on welfare. We count, MORE. https://www.counterpunch.org/2020/07/31/did-a-wealthy-family-which-may-have-ties-to-trumps-mar-a-lago-buy-a-seat-on-the-dc-council/

I have said it before, the way white people talk to me is usually condescending. Well most/all the politicians I have met. Candidates as well (Charles Butler & Marcus Goodwin)

I usually use photoshop to create but this first one was created using the paint application which is on most computers all but mac/apple computers. I should "redo" it with Evictions. Charles Allen's ward which is the ward I grew up in is the fastest growing. Phil Mendelson dictates how he wants the entire council to vote. Silverman was many times the only vote against Phil Mendelson's objectives. There is another puppet master image with some city members that have since left.


While creating this image, my oldest said I think you have a problem. It was one of my first creations post pandemic times. I recently made this into a gif to add the "Fair Shot" comment because it is just as clueless as what supposedly Marie Antoinette said.


At this point you might start thinking is there anyone I do like? My art work/activism toward politicians is what I consider my same approach I do for my teens. I only seek better action/work/behavior. Reading articles and attending meetings is one level of activism but when you start attending/watching the legislative meetings that is another level. You will start to notice who respects who and the tongue lashings. So take these images as they are.

If you are on twitter take the time to search Anita Bonds and housing. There are a lot of opinions, articles and commentary of her legislative history.

The biggest threat no one sees or know about. Is the former Mayor Tony Williams. He started displacement years ago with the MCI center in fake ass Chinatown. He currently is on the tax reform committee and chairman of the Federal City Council. Currently called Capital One Arena in downtown Chinatown, when it was first build it was the start towards gentrification as we know it. Here is a video done by the Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum about the disappearing Asian community. https://fb.watch/gWxQFb7T-1/ As for the Nationals Baseball Park https://georgetownvoice.com/2018/04/13/how-nationals-park-transformed-the-riverfront/


If folks remember Fenty and not a fan well I have heard Mayor Bowser is Fenty in heals. As for this gif of Charles Allen I'll refer to this news coverage https://www.wusa9.com/article/news/local/one-year-after-dc-elderly-complex-fire/65-feeefc29-689b-473b-a490-f7059b77b73d

Can you tell I'm not a fan?

I created this image before Grosso announced he wasn't running again. So never used this. Nothing against Silverman but she chairs a committee that "a waste of time". I have been through several work force development agencies when I was receiving TANF and they didn't help me much.


After this election season I despise the word progressive. Local politicians and voters alike are looking highly questionable to me. My definition is obviously quite different from others. So even though we have some new blood, I am still keeping a close eye on those folks. Don't be surprised my political art is far from over.


I strictly do local politics but for fun I did these. President Biden proclaims to be moderate which comes off as a wimp to me. As for giving out acting awards. When you notice things don't ever change when democrats are leading and republicans just make things better for themselves. I just started thinking is it all an act?









26 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page