top of page
  • Writer's pictureLark

My time in ward 7 & East of the river beauty

Updated: Jun 11, 2022

My kids grew up in ward 7 for 10 years. We went through a lot of good times, challenging times and formative times. This post will just show pictures taken throughout the years. If not in ward 7, some might have been taken in ward 6, at the waterfront and navy yard areas.


we took the bus when they attended their first school but after changing schools they started taking the train home.

The old Safeway at Waterfront

Congress Heights metro station and Benning Road bus stop.

Anacostia Park Playground and the other I believe at garfield park

playground at kimball elementary. They never went to school there but since we were close we would walk over and they played there on the weekends. the third kid was staying with us for a little bit. His mom was a old high school friend.

They had a lot of energy walking up the hill from their daycare in ward 8

Attending a tennis workshop at Benning Rec Center. They also did ice skating at Ft. Dupont.

taking the metro bus to school, remember when the bus had three steps?

Pictures taken as we were leaving our apartment.

My oldest at the Anacostia River and both of them at the children's museum at National Harbor. I remember going to the children's museum when it was on H street.

youngest one by the shrimp boat on Benning Road and catching the U6 bus on 37th Street SE. Do you see the non-existent curb?

This street would become a literal river when it rained. Here are the pictures to prove it.

I also got ticketed because the damn ticket person said the cars where to close to the side walk? I know all my fellow car folks where nervous with the bus speeding down that hill and our cars had to be parked way out of the street, to not get a ticket.

Another crazy night on my old 37th Street. Just FYI, cars where broken into on my newer street in ward 5. So yea crime happens everywhere and there is always an accident.


Lastly we also went to the Nationals Baseball Stadium a few times for the free opera event. My youngest never was interested but he did enjoy trying this out.


With the good and the bad. Ward 7 was home for 10 years and honestly I wouldn't mind living there again in a different part of ward 7. My mother always said 7 was her lucky number. I have lost some ties and gained some ties in ward 7. But as I have said before no matter the ward DC is the only home I know. So for that I wish folks where not so territorial. These are my reasons and so much more of why I consider East of the River home as well, even though I physically live in ward 5 now.







18 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page